The Beat Goes On Various Artists (Atlantic)


Catalogue Id:

Back in 1988 I compiled an LP of MCA/Universal tracks called Dance Floor Disaster (KENT 076). It was an eclectic mix of great, danceable, mainly black music singles that were all worthy of release but didn't quite fit into any specific music bag. It was a Latin/African/Nightclub/Blues/Jazz/Soul type thang and the only time Captain Beefheart made it on to Kent.

The Beat Goes On is a similarly catholic creation featuring Mambo, Disco, Folk-Soul and a small piece of voodoo funk. However the whole aggregation has a greater cohesiveness due to it all being releases from the mighty Atlantic stable. In fact the main differences are down to the varying recording dates (1951-1975) rather than being aimed at different markets.

British record collectors are noted for their fanaticism and personally I remember a time when my search for Northern Soul stompers led me to Brian Hyland and The Joker Went Wild before I'd even checked out Percy Sledge's You've Got That Something Wonderful. But we learn, and soul crusader Randy Cozens' tapes of Mitty Collier, Chuck Jackson, Bobby Bland and Annette Snell reminded me of the other sides to soul. Similarly Gaz's Rockin' Blues club taught me all about The Clovers, Ruth Brown and Brother Ray's early R&B sides.

The selections sorted themselves out roughly evenly across the three decades concerned and it was logical to sequence them approximately along those lines, thereby illustrating the progression of styles in Atlantic and black music's development.

White blokes with black hearts deservedly sneak in, via Bobby Darin's rhythmically irresistible Irresistible You, Sonny and Cher's terminally groovy The Beat Goes On and Dr John's menacing Right Time, Wrong Place.

The broad remit gave me a chance to use a few of the all-time greats like Aretha Franklin and her occasionally neglected (Sweet Sweet Baby), Since You've Been Gone plus stone killers from major players like the Coasters, the Drifters, Sam and Dave, Wilson Pickett and Otis.

For compiler's perks I snuck in Soul Brothers Six, You'd Better Check Yourself, Clarence Carter's Take It Off Him And Put It On Me and Love Or Leave by the Spinners (known as of the Detroit variety to UK punters), just because I love them.

So it's a meaningful, historical, musical summary, an overview of three decades of black dance music or an excuse to get up and boogie. Take your pick.

By Harbaro Horace


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Shoppin' For Clothes - The Coasters

  • 02 Preview It Should've Been Me - Ray Charles

  • 03 Preview You'd Better Find Yourself Another Fool - LaVern Baker

  • 04 Preview Mambo Baby - Ruth Brown & Her Rhythmakers

  • 05 Preview Irresistible You - Bobby Darin

  • 06 Preview One Mint Julep - The Clovers

  • 07 Preview One Way Love - The Drifters

  • 08 Preview Philly Dog - The Mar-Keys

  • 09 Preview Maggie's Farm - Solomon Burke

  • 10 Preview You've Got That Something Wonderful - Percy Sledge

  • 11 Preview I'm Gonna Cry - Wilson Pickett

  • 12 Preview The Beat Goes On - Sonny & Cher

  • 13 Preview Nursery Rhymes - Deon Jackson

  • 14 Preview What Is Soul? - Ben E King

  • 15 Preview You Don't Know What You Mean To Me - Sam & Dave

  • 16 Preview (Sweet Sweet Baby), Since You've Been Gone - Aretha Franklin

  • 17 Preview Funky Street - Arthur Conley

  • 18 Preview You Better Check Yourself - Soul Brothers Six

  • 19 Preview Papa's Got A Brand New Bag - Otis Redding

  • 20 Preview Instant Groove - King Curtis

  • 21 Preview Right Place, Wrong Time - Dr John

  • 22 Preview Take It Off Him And Put It On Me - Clarence Carter

  • 23 Preview Time - Jackie Moore

  • 24 Preview "There's Gonna Be A" Showdown - Archie Bell & The Drells

  • 25 Preview Love Or Leave - The Spinners

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


An imaginative compilation which oozes quality, this could well be the first of a series. Let's hope so.

Blues & Rhythm

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought