The Greatest Johnny Otis Show Various Artists (Johnny Otis)


Rhythm & Blues
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

In the two short years that The Johnny Otis Show recorded for Capitol, they managed time and again to come up with some of the most eternal sides in rock'n'roll. The legendary Mr Otis adopted the role of ringmaster, whilst the members of his revue took turns to show off their many talents. Marie Adams, the Three Tons of Joy, Mel Williams, Jeannie Sterling and Jackie Kelso all featured on the recordings, backed up by some of the very finest musicians Johnny could assemble.

Their debut Capitol single Ma, He's Making Eyes At Me truly caught the imagination of the British public and went right to the top of the charts in November, 1957.

Back home, the much loved Willie and the Hand Jive hit the US Top Ten the following summer and the whole shooting match went on to spread the word in films and TV. Future gems like Castin' My Spell, Crazy Country Hop and Mumblin' Mosie all helped to sow the seeds for the forthcoming R&B revolution in the UK with many homegrown acts from Cliff Richard to the Animals turning to the Johnny Otis repertoire for a source of material. After the disappointment of previous compilations, from other companies Ace Records have finally restored the balance by bringing together the cream of the Otis crop, including wonderful rock'n'roll tracks such as Bye Bye Baby, All I Want Is Your Love and Shake It Lucy Baby that have not appeared on CD before. This landmark release sets the facts straight on paper too, as the complexities surrounding Johnny's arrival at Capitol have never been fully documented until now. The Greatest Johnny Otis Show is no idle boast, because the team succeeded in capturing such a joyous mood, the excitement still delivers maximum entertainment value. Mr. Otis has nothing to regret.

by Stuart Colman


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Shake It Lucy Baby - The Johnny Otis Show. Vocal by Johnny Otis

  • 02 Preview Ma (He's Making Eyes At Me) - The Johnny Otis Show with Johnny Otis and his orchestra with vocal Marie Ad

  • 03 Preview (Romance) In The Dark - Marie Adams & The Three Tons Of Joy

  • 04 Preview Willie And The Hand Jive aka The Johnny Otis Hand Jive - The Johnny Otis Show. Vocal by Johnny Otis

  • 05 Preview Bye Bye Baby - Marie Adams & Johnny Otis

  • 06 Preview Loop De Loop - Marie Adams

  • 07 Preview Can't You Hear Me Callin' - Johnny Otis

  • 08 Preview The Light Still Shines In My Window - Marie Adams

  • 09 Preview Hum Ding A Ling - Johnny Otis

  • 10 Preview Well Well Well - Mel Williams

  • 11 Preview Story Untold - Jeannie Sterling & The Moonbeams

  • 12 Preview All I Want Is Your Love - Marie Adams

  • 13 Preview Good Golly - Johnny Otis

  • 14 Preview You Just Kissed Me Goodbye - Mel Williams

  • 15 Preview Ring-A-Ling - Johnny Otis

  • 16 Preview Three Girls Named Molly, Doin' The Hully Gully - Johnny Otis

  • 17 Preview A Fool In Love - Marie Adams

  • 18 Preview Crazy Country Hop - The Johnny Otis Show

  • 19 Preview Hey Baby, Don't You Know - Johnny Otis

  • 20 Preview I'll Do The Same Thing For You - Marci Lee & Johnny Otis

  • 21 Preview What Do You Want To Make Those Eyes At Me For? - Marie Adams

  • 22 Preview Willie Did The Cha Cha - Johnny Otis

  • 23 Preview Mumblin' Mosie - The Johnny Otis Show

  • 24 Preview Let The Sun Shine In My Life - Johnny Otis

  • 25 Preview Castin' My Spell - The Johnny Otis Show

  • 26 Preview Telephone Baby - Marci Lee & Johnny Otis

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


Prime examples of the inspired Otis lunacy.


All the big hits and more are on this splendid CD.

Now Dig This

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought