The Legendary Modern Recordings John Lee Hooker


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

This product is also available in these versions:
The Legendary Modern Recordings (MP3), MP3 (£7.99)

The Ace John Lee re-issue programme continues apace with these recordings issued on the Modern label in the early 50s. Many of these titles saw the light of day for the first time here and are from masters


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Boogie Chillen'

  • 02 Preview Sally Mae ((alt take of Modern 627 B 7003))

  • 03 Preview Hoogie Boogie (Instrumental)

  • 04 Preview Hobo Blues ((alt take of UA LA 127-J3 as Long, Long Way From Home))

  • 05 Preview Weeping Willow Boogie ((as Weeping Willow on Crown 5157))

  • 06 Preview Drifting From Door To Door

  • 07 Preview Crawlin' King Snake

  • 08 Preview Women In My Life (aka Goin' Away Baby)

  • 09 Preview Howlin' Wolf ((as I'm A Howling Wolf on Crown LP 5353))

  • 10 Preview Playin' The Races

  • 11 Preview Let Your Daddy Ride

  • 12 Preview Queen Bee

  • 13 Preview Wednesday Evening ((as She Left Me On Bended Knee on Crown 5232))

  • 14 Preview I'm In The Mood

  • 15 Preview Tease Me Baby (aka Tease Me Over Baby) ((as Tease Your Daddy on Crown LP 5353))

  • 16 Preview Turn Over A New Leaf

  • 17 Preview Rock House Boogie

  • 18 Preview Too Much Boogie

  • 19 Preview Need Somebody

  • 20 Preview Gotta Boogie

  • 21 Preview Jump Me (One More Time)

  • 22 Preview Down Child

  • 23 Preview Bad Boy

  • 24 Preview Please Take Me Back

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought