This Is Fame 1964-1968 Various Artists (This Is)


Southern Soul
Catalogue Id:
KENT2 504

This product is also available in these versions:
This Is Fame 1964-1968, CD (£12.56)
This Is Fame 1964-1968 (MP3), MP3 (£7.99)

A definitive look at the recordings made for the famous studio’s in-house label. 24-track, two-disc vinyl set.

When we launched our Fame reissue series in 2011 there were only the slightest rumblings of the vinyl revival which has made so many headlines over the last few years. Vinyl has many things going for it, but a definitive way of presenting a 75-track box set probably isn’t one. So it is only now that we are bringing the early years of the Fame Records story to vinyl, with this definitive look at the recordings made for the famous studio’s in-house label.

One of the joys of working on the music producer Rick Hall and his team of musicians and songwriters made between 1964 and 1968 is the access that we had to the Fame archive. Paperwork allowed us to uncover or confirm stories we had previously only guessed at, tapes gave up their magical musical secrets and boxes of photographs gave us a glimpse inside603 Avalon Avenue as history was being made. “This Is Fame 1964-1968” allows us to take stock of what we discovered, gather it under one roof and show it off.

Housed in a spectacular cover that recalls the great 1960s soul compilations, the music ranges from hits recorded by Jimmy Hughes and Clarence Carter to recently uncovered tracks from names such as Ben & Spence and Ralph “Soul” Jackson and several more which make their vinyl debut. There are early contributions from backroom boys such as Dan Penn, Spooner Oldham and future Swampers Jimmy Johnson and Roger Hawkins as members of the Del-Rays.

Every record label has great records that failed to scale the charts, and Fame was no different. Arthur Conley would go on to great success with ‘Sweet Soul Music’ but his two singles for the Fame label, great though they were, never really sold. Records by Art Freeman and James Barnett became northern soul classics, whilst June Conquest and Jeanie Greene were early proof of what Fame could do with female singers.

Some of the masters here remained unreleased because the label was effectively closed between late 1967 and early 1969 when Rick Hall signed his deal with Capitol. Tracks by artists such as Clarence Carter, Ben & Spence and Otis Clay were leased out to bigger labels, but are essentially Fame records. We have also included George Jackson’s beautiful recording of ‘Back In Your Arms’, which we feel rightfully fits here.

Dean Rudland


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Steal Away - Jimmy Hughes

  • 02 Preview It Tears Me Up - James Barnett

  • 03 Preview She Ain't Gonna Do Right - Clarence Carter

  • 04 Preview I Can't Stop (No, No, No) - Arthur Conley

  • 05 Preview That Kind Of Lovin' - Otis Clay

  • 06 Preview Fortune Teller - The Del-Rays

Side 2

  • 01 Preview Slippin' Around With You - Art Freeman

  • 02 Preview Keep On Talking - James Barnett

  • 03 Preview Hi Heel Sneakers - Jimmy Hughes

  • 04 Preview Long Ago - Ben & Spence

  • 05 Preview Don't Make Me Hate Loving You - Jeanie Greene

  • 06 Preview (Take Me) Just As I Am - Dan Penn

Side 3

  • 01 Preview Back In Your Arms - George Jackson

  • 02 Preview Feed The Flame - Billy Young

  • 03 Preview You Really Know How To Hurt A Guy - Ralph "Soul" Jackson

  • 04 Preview Thread The Needle - Clarence Carter

  • 05 Preview A Piece Of My Heart - Art Freeman

  • 06 Preview Wish You Didn't Have To Go - Spooner & The Spoons

Side 4

  • 01 Preview Almost Persuaded - June Conquest

  • 02 Preview I'm Gonna Forget About You - Arthur Conley

  • 03 Preview Take A Good Look - James Barnett

  • 04 Preview Come On Home - Herman Moore

  • 05 Preview Blind Can't See - Richard Earl & The Corvettes

  • 06 Preview I Worship The Ground You Walk On - Jimmy Hughes

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


Everything is great here, from Jimmy Hughes’ self-penned Steal Away and Hall’s studio house band, The Del-Rays’ cover of Benny Spellman’s Fortune Teller to June Conquest’s sole issue on the label; the ace Almost Persuaded, co-written by Dan Penn ★★★★

Record Collector

24 southern soul scorchers ★★★★


Well packaged and thoroughly annotated, this is a splendid tribute to Rick Hall and his musician's creativity ★★★★1/2


Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought