This Is Street Funk Various Artists (This Is)


Catalogue Id:
BGPD 1116

“This Is Street Funk” is part of a new series aimed at vinyl buyers who wants a genre specific compilation to excite their ears. Two sides of fantastic music, at an affordable price, cherry picked from Ace and its associated catalogues.

Compiled by Dean Rudland, who also writes the liner notes, “This Is Street Funk” brings you 14 tracks of hard hitting, heavy funk, and sums up the sound of 70s Black America. A combination of fatback drums, syncopated bass, rhythmic guitars and explosive vocals.

The line-up of tracks includes classics from the Fatback Band and Millie Jackson, dancefloor favourites from Billy Garner and Billy Sha-Rae and screaming organ instrumentals from the Fame Gang and Larry & Tommy.

This is fourteen tracks that defy you to start dancing.



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Brand New Girl - Billy Garner

  • 02 Preview Mister Bass Man - The Fatback Band

  • 03 Preview Bad On Bad - Chet Ivey

  • 04 Preview Grits And Gravy - The Fame Gang

  • 05 Preview Foolish Man (Part 1) - The Huck Daniels Co featuring Johnny Adams

  • 06 Preview Funky Kingston - Tribe

  • 07 Preview Over Dose (Of Your Love) - The Two Things In One

Side 2

  • 01 Preview Stop! - Camille "Lil" Bob

  • 02 Preview Hypocrisy - Millie Jackson

  • 03 Preview Do It - Billy Sha-Rae

  • 04 Preview Mother Popcorn - The Mello Matics

  • 05 Preview Here Comes The Judge - Larry & Tommy

  • 06 Preview Soul Feeling Pt 1 - Eddy Giles

  • 07 Preview Get Me Back On Time, Engine #9 - National Soul Review

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought