Bob Stanley & Pete Wiggs Present Paris In The Spring Various Artists (Saint Etienne)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
XXQLP2 055

This product is also available in these versions:
Bob Stanley & Pete Wiggs Present Paris In The Spring, CD (£11.50)

The events of May '68 are seen as a turning point in France's social history - pictures of the barricades are still potent images. Lines were drawn politically, culturally, socially, and pop music was not exempt.

“Paris In The Spring” is a collection of the new music, put together by Saint Etienne's Bob Stanley and Pete Wiggs, that emerged from France between 1968 and the mid-seventies, an extraordinary blend of several previously independent strains – French chanson and yé -yé, American jazz and funk, British chamber pop - shot through with the era's underlying mixture of optimism, uncertainty and darkness. This is the first collection of its kind, released on the 50th anniversary of the Paris uprising.

Serge Gainsbourg – a jazz pianist with a chanson past and a pop present – was in a position to play a key role in soundtracking France in flux over the next five years. His “Histoire de Melody Nelson”, with its heavily atmospheric arrangements by Jean-Claude Vannier, was the acme of this new, unsettling French sound. “Paris In The Spring” includes other equally dazzling Vannier arrangements (for Léonie) and Gainsbourg compositions (for Jane Birkin and Mireille Darc).

Prior to 1968, sixties French pop had been dominated by yé -yé, the country's unique brand of upbeat pop, a world of primary colours, mini-jupes and discotheques (a French invention, after all). Its stars either faded fast after May '68 or adapted to the new era: Jacques Dutronc (‘Le Métaphore’) and France Gall (‘Chanson Pour Que Tu M'aimes un Peu’) discovered a moody side that they had previously kept hidden, and Françoise Hardy released the Brazilian-influenced, after-hours classic “La Question”, from which we have picked ‘Viens’.

New bands like Triangle emerged, influenced by Soft Machine and Gong who became regulars on the Paris club scene. French library music from Janko Nilovic and film soundtracks (François De Roubaix, Karl-Heinz Schäfer) reflected the era's edginess. All are represented on “Paris In The Spring”, making it a continental cousin to Stanley and Wiggs's 2017 Ace compilation “English Weather”.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview La Victime (Part 1) - Karl Heinz Schäfer

  • 02 Preview Hélicoptère - Mireille Darc

  • 03 Preview Les Aventures Extraordinaires D'Un Billet De Banque - Bernard Lavilliers

  • 04 Preview Roses And Revolvers - Janko Nilovic

  • 05 Preview L'Elu - Ilous & Decuyper

  • 06 Preview La Metaphore - Jacques Dutronc

Side 2

  • 01 Preview Dommage Que Tu Sois Mort - Brigitte Fontaine

  • 02 Preview Les Garde Violent Au Secours Du Roi (Alternate version) - Jean-Claude Vannier

  • 03 Preview Looking For You - Nino Ferrer

  • 04 Preview Chanson D'Un Jour D'Hiver - Cortex

  • 05 Preview Viens - Françoise Hardy

Side 3

Side 4

  • 01 Preview Evelyne - Serge Gainsbourg

  • 02 Preview Lileth - Léonie

  • 03 Preview Ystor - Ys

  • 04 Preview Chanson Pour Que Tu M'Aimes Un Peu - France Gall

  • 05 Preview La Victime (Part 2) - Karl Heinz Schäfer

  • 06 Preview La Chanson D'Hélène - Romy Schneider & Michel Piccoli

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought