Lovin' Mighty Fire: Nippon Funk * Soul * Disco 1973-1983 Various Artists (BGP International)


Catalogue Id:

This product is also available in these versions:
Lovin' Mighty Fire - Nippon Funk * Soul * Disco 1973-1983, LP (£25.97)

“Lovin’ Mighty Fire” is Howard Williams’ third Japanese music compilation for the Ace Records house of labels - this time, for BGP International. Assembled in between his job as a record distributor and his monthly Japan Blues show for NTS radio, the first two have taken a look at the late 50s for a blast of Japanese rockabilly (“Nippon Rock’n’Roll” CDWIKD 313), then the 60s and 70s for a romp in Japanese surf music (“Nippon Guitars” CDWIKD 297). Following his retrospective of jazz singer Maki Asakawa for Honest Jon’s, this new outing searches for the soul music of Japan, from the early 70s to the early 80s.
Japan has long been known as the final destination for many a collectible soul record. Yet, who suspected that some fine soul grooves were recorded for the domestic market, from ballads, to funk and disco? Strangely enough, some of the busiest writers and producers in this field came from a late 60s rock band, Happy End, but on listening to their collaborations, their rhythmic, soulful feel is immediately apparent.
The bluesy funk of Lily; the soul-diva brilliance of Minako Yoshida; the maverick genius of Haruomi Hosono; the lively songstress Yasuko Agawa; and the sultry steaminess of Mari Natsuki, and more. This album finally plants a Japanese flag firmly on the global map of soul.

Track listing

Side 1

  • 01
    Bye Bye Session Band - Lily

  • 02
    Sentimental Hotel - Rie Nakahara

  • 03
    Barato Yajuu - Haruomi Hosono

  • 04
    Why Don't You Move In With Me - Yasuko Agawa

  • 05
    Jiken Ga Okitara Bell Ga Naru - Pink Lady

  • 06
    Summer Champion - Yuko Asano

  • 07
    Dancin' - Junko Ohashi

  • 08
    Rainbow Paradise - Masayoshi Takanaka

  • 09
    Uragiri - Mari Natsuki

  • 10
    Maboroshi No Hito - Miyako Chaki

  • 11
    Banana - Kay Ishiguro

  • 12
    Funky Miyo-chan - Masaaki Hirao

  • 13
    Yashow Macashow - Ebonee Webb

  • 14
    Lovin' Mighty Fire - Naoya Matsuoka & Minako Yoshida

Delivery & Returns

We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews

comments powered by Disqus

Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought

© Ace records 2012-2016