Making Time - A Shel Talmy Production Various Artists (Shel Talmy)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1497

The name Shel Talmy needs no introduction to any student of 1960s rock. In the roll-call of top producers of the era, he is foremost, an American ex-pat who almost single-handedly changed the sound of British rock’n’roll. Based upon his supervision of the early Kinks and Who alone, Talmy upped the ante and in the process forged a sonic template that would have worldwide reverberations. This is the first significant overview of this maverick’s 1960s career.

Talmy trained as an engineer in Hollywood, but when on holiday in the UK in 1962, boldly marched into Decca Records and announced his availability as producer. Early hits with the Bachelors and Fortunes led to a reputation for handling the new wave of beat and mod outfits that erupted in the wake of the Beatles. He enjoyed his greatest success with the Kinks, Who and Easybeats, but could create a hit for just about anyone, from the breezy style of Chad & Jeremy or the soulful pop of Manfred Mann and Amen Corner to the acoustic-based Pentangle.

Talmy’s prolific schedule meant a proportion of his productions fell by the wayside, but many have subsequently become cherished items. As heard here, they range from future stars David Bowie and Lemmy (with the Rockin’ Vickers) to cult faves the Untamed, Oliver Norman, First Gear and Mickey Finn, along with the acts on Talmy’s own Planet Records, including pop-art avatars the Creation. Shel’s girls are represented by the collectable Perpetual Langley and Goldie & the Gingerbreads, while his work with Lee Hazlewood and Roy Harper demonstrates the breadth of his abilities. Finally, along with the freakbeat classic ‘Bald Headed Woman’. Trini Lopez’s witty ‘Sinner Not A Saint’ (the only non-Talmy production here) is included an example of his songwriting prowess.

“Making Time – A Shel Talmy Production” also benefits from unprecedented access to Talmy’s personal vaults, which yielded master tapes for many obscurities as well as several ear-popping unissued tracks. Extensively researched and copiously illustrated, this anthology will be a significant entry in Ace’s acclaimed “Producer” series.

Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Making Time - The Creation

  • 02 Preview Bald Headed Woman - The Sneekers

  • 03 Preview Semi-Detached Suburban Mr James - Manfred Mann

  • 04 Preview That's Why I Love You - Goldie & The Gingerbreads

  • 05 Preview Tired Of Waiting For You - The Kinks

  • 06 Preview Bye Babe - Lee Hazlewood

  • 07 Preview Anyway, Anyhow, Anywhere - The Who

  • 08 Preview Night Comes Down - Mickey Finn

  • 09 Preview Light Flight (Theme from Take Three Girls) - The Pentangle

  • 10 Preview Stop And Watch The Children Play - The Rokes

  • 11 Preview A Certain Girl - The First Gear

  • 12 Preview Surrender - Perpetual Langley

  • 13 Preview You've Got A Habit Of Leaving (Alternate Outtake Version) - Davy Jones

  • 14 Preview Ageing Raver - Roy Harper

  • 15 Preview Lisa - The Easybeats

  • 16 Preview Daddy Long Legs - Lindsay Muir's Untamed

  • 17 Preview A Summer Song - Chad & Jeremy

  • 18 Preview Jack O' Diamonds - Ben Carruthers & The Deep

  • 19 Preview Toymaker - Wild Silk

  • 20 Preview I'm Coming Home - The Nashville Teens

  • 21 Preview Caroline - The Fortunes

  • 22 Preview Drowning In My Own Despair - Oliver Norman

  • 23 Preview I Don't Need Your Kind - The Rockin' Vickers

  • 24 Preview Jamie Sue - Tim Rose

  • 25 Preview Sinner Not A Saint - Trini Lopez

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Customers who bought this item also bought