Manhattan Soul - Scepter, Wand & Musicor - Vol 2 Various Artists (Scepter/ Wand)


60s Soul
Catalogue Id:

Scepter, Wand and Musicor have been a staple of the Kent connoisseur’s diet for nearly thirty years, since Jack Montgomery’s ‘Dearly Beloved’ opened the “Club Soul” Kent LP in 1984. Along with stunning solo compilations from Maxine Brown, Tommy Hunt, Chuck Jackson and the Shirelles there have been about a dozen LP and CD compilations of all the great artists who didn’t have enough tracks for solo albums. These varied from out-and-out Northern Soul, to big city ballads, to Southern Soul to Modern and funk. We don’t categorise quite as much nowadays and Kent has always been liberal in its mixing of the genres, so it is not surprising to see a typically diverse selection on our latest Manhattan Soul volume.

One of the main reasons we’ve re-visited the series is the new access we have had to the multi-track tapes, which either contained previously unheard songs or offered great tape quality on seminal tracks that had been dubbed from disc n the past. The “new to our ears” recordings on this compilation include Jimmy Radcliffe’s original demo (or first stage recording) of his classic self-penned song ‘Deep In The Heart Of Harlem’, a Benny Gordon rousing vocal work-out to his fast and funky ‘Horsin’ Around’ groove, Lois Lane’s rhythm & soul with a touch of gospel ‘No Jealous Lover’ and the Catalinas’ blue eyed beach music of ‘Who Knows Better’.

Greatly improved sound quality can be heard on the Soul Brothers beat ballad ‘The Parade Of Broken Hearts’, Ed Bruce’s sublime study in melancholy ‘I’m Gonna Have A Party’ and the most infectious dancer since ‘Dance To The Music’ in Lou Lawton’s ‘Knick Knack Patty Wack’; don’t let that title phase you.

While we were recreating those sessions from the 60s we looked at the whole of the formidable catalogue and found some wonderful masters that hadn’t been available since the vinyl to CD switch. Tracks from soul legends such as Big Maybelle with ‘How Do You Feel Now’, Roscoe Robinson and his plaintive ‘Lonesome Guy’ and tommy Hunt's ‘New Neighbourhood’ which took me back to those rammed-out, steamy 100 Club all nighters of the mid 80s. Other gems like Willie Hatcher’s magnificent ‘Who Am I Without You Baby’, Joe Perkins’ atmospheric ‘Runaway Slave’ and the close soul harmony of the Premiers on ‘Lonely Weatherman’ had never graced a digital disc before.

Researching the music was no less interesting than listening to it. We unearthed a current member of the US House Of Representatives; a lead singer who flew his plane into a mountain; and a one-single wonder who still plies his trade crooning in Las Vegas. 

Apart from the Big Apple, there’s a hunk of Philly, a splash of Chicago and some Memphis grits; all making for a soul food sandwich to savour. 

By Ady Croasdell

Track listing

Side 1

  • 01
    That Girl - Porgy & The Monarchs

  • 02
    New Neighborhood - Tommy Hunt

  • 03
    I Gotta Keep My Bluff In - Freddie Hughes

  • 04
    Who Am I Without You Baby - Will Hatcher

  • 05
    I'm Gonna Have A Party - Ed Bruce

  • 06
    Kiss And Make Up - The Inspirations

  • 07
    Lost Love - Irma & The Fascinators

  • 08
    No Jealous Lover - Lois Lane

  • 09
    Knick Knack Patty Wack - Lou Lawton

  • 10
    Call On Billy - Billy T Soul

  • 11
    Horsin' Around - Benny Gordon & The Soul Brothers

  • 12
    I Don't Want Nobody To Lead Me On - The Masqueraders

  • 13
    Runaway Slave - Joe Perkins

  • 14
    The Parade Of Broken Hearts - The Soul Brothers

  • 15
    You Found My Lonely Heart A Home - Shep Grant

  • 16
    Deep In The Heart Of Harlem - Jimmy Radcliffe

  • 17
    Lonesome Guy - Roscoe Robinson

  • 18
    How Do You Feel Now - Big Maybelle

  • 19
    I Just Gotta Have You - Nella Dodds

  • 20
    You Babe - Something New

  • 21
    Who Knows Better - The Catalinas

  • 22
    Hey Whatcha Doin' - Jerry Tiffe

  • 23
    A Man, A Woman - Chris Bartley

  • 24
    Lonely Weatherman - The Premiers

Delivery & Returns

We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews

comments powered by Disqus

Press quotes


Record Collector

Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought

© Ace records 2012-2016