A Different World - The Holland Dozier Holland Songbook Various Artists (Songwriter Series)


Catalogue Id:

A long-overdue addition to Ace’s ongoing Songwriter Series, the words and music of brothers Brian and Edward Holland and their colleague Lamont Dozier were and still are the foundation on which the international success of The Motown Sound was built.

Between 1963 and 1968 Holland-Dozier-Holland wrote hit after hit for Berry Gordy’s company, their songs making stars of some of Motown’s biggest names – including but not limited to the Supremes and Four Tops.  From 1969 to 1973 the trio carried on penning smashes and classics for their own Invictus/Hot Wax/Music Merchant set up, creating new stars in the Honey Cone and Freda Payne, among others.

Holland-Dozier-Holland songs have been revisited many times by all sorts of artists, and “A Different World” brings two dozen diverse names and interpretations of their repertoire, with Motown and Invictus stalwarts like the aforementioned Supremes and Tops (as well as  Martha and the Vandellas, Kim Weston, the Miracles and more) sharing disc space with The Band, Brenda Lee, The Vanilla Fudge, Laura Nyro and even The Fall – just a few of the non-traditional names who reinterpret Holland-Dozier-Holland’s vison of ‘The Sound Of Young America’ in their own individual and inimitable ways.

As ever, “A Different World’s booklet is packed with label shots, copious other images and an extensive sleeve note that gives deep detail about the featured songs. It may be long-overdue, but it is an essential tribute to a stellar writing team and is well worth the wait!

Tony Rounce


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Where Did Our Love Go - Donnie Elbert

  • 02 Preview Love's Gone Bad - Chris Clark

  • 03 Preview Jimmy Mack - Martha & The Vandellas

  • 04 Preview Don't Do It - The Band

  • 05 Preview Baby I Need Your Loving - Marvin Gaye & Kim Weston

  • 06 Preview How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You) - Brenda Lee

  • 07 Preview Reach Out, I'll Be There - Gloria Gaynor

  • 08 Preview Heaven Must Have Sent You - Diana Ross & The Supremes

  • 09 Preview Medley Of Soul (It's The Same Old Song / Something About You / I Can't Help Myself) - Big Al Downing

  • 10 Preview While You're Out Looking For Sugar - Honey Cone

  • 11 Preview There's A Ghost In My House - The Fall

  • 12 Preview Take Me In Your Arms (Rock Me A Little While) - The Isley Brothers

  • 13 Preview You Keep Me Hanging On - The Vanilla Fudge

  • 14 Preview A Love Like Yours (Don't Come Knocking Everyday) - Dusty Springfield

  • 15 Preview This Old Heart Of Mine (Is Weak For You) - Bettye Swann

  • 16 Preview New Breed Kinda Woman - Holland-Dozier Featuring Lamont Dozier

  • 17 Preview Band Of Gold (Unedited Alternate Version) - Freda Payne

  • 18 Preview Leaving Here - Eddie Holland

  • 19 Preview I'm In A Different World - Four Tops

  • 20 Preview I Think You Need Love - Dionne Warwick

  • 21 Preview (Come Round Here) I'm The One You Need - Smokey Robinson & The Miracles

  • 22 Preview Come See About Me - Barbara Mason

  • 23 Preview Helpless - Kim Weston

  • 24 Preview Come And Get These Memories - Laura Nyro

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought