Baby, That Is Rock 'n' Roll Various Artists (Rock & Roll Compilations)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

General rock'n'roll compilations and collections are ten-a-penny, but this one's a bit special. Not only does it include tried and bona fide 50s classics such as Good Golly Miss Molly, Rockin' Robin, Long Tall Sally and Wake Up Little Susie, it also serves to introduce the newer fan, or perhaps the occasional buyer, to the delights of less well-known, but equally deserving belters like Hit Git And Split by Young Jessie, Dirty Robber from the Wailers, Have Mercy Miss Percy by Marvin & Johnny and Yama Yama Pretty Mama courtesy of Richard Berry (writer of the perennial Louie Louie.

Compiled from a host of independent rock'n'roll labels such as Specialty, Del-Fi, Cadence and Modern, this is the real deal. Gems like Jerry Byrne's frantic Lights Out, Big Al Downing's pounding Down On The Farm and Roy Montrell's magical (Every Time I Hear) That Mellow Saxophone have been big favourites on the European rock'n'roll scene for years. Now they're given even wider exposure via Baby, That Is Rock'n'Roll.

There's a fair smattering of stunning original versions too. The Swinging Blue Jeans pale in comparison to Chan Romero with his self-penned Hippy Hippy Shake-.-The Righteous Brothers were never as wild as Don & Dewey on Justine-.-Michael Jackson's attempt at Rockin' Robin was virtually a straight copy of Bobby Day's 1958 rendition (though nowhere near as good!)-.-and the Beatles were never able to fully capture the raw abandon of Larry Williams' Slow Down and Dizzy Miss Lizzy or Little Richard's Long Tall Sally.

Rock'n'roll is all about fun, freedom of expression and having a good time. That's exactly what you get with Baby, That Is Rock'n'Roll - a clinker-free collection of 18 vintage performances that sound as fresh today as they did the day they were recorded. Timeless bop.

Miss Molly sure loved to ball and who can blame her. Grab it and dance!

By Trevor Cajiao
(Editor of UK's #1 rock'n'roll fanzine, Now Dig This!)


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Good Golly, Miss Molly - Little Richard

  • 02 Preview Rockin' Robin - Bobby Day

  • 03 Preview Dizzy Miss Lizzy - Larry Williams

  • 04 Preview Come On, Let's Go - Ritchie Valens

  • 05 Preview Bird Dog - The Everly Brothers

  • 06 Preview Hippy Hippy Shake - Chan Romero

  • 07 Preview Hit, Git And Split - Young Jessie

  • 08 Preview Down On The Farm - Big Al Downing

  • 09 Preview Long Tall Sally - Little Richard

  • 10 Preview Have Mercy Miss Percy - Long Tall Marvin

  • 11 Preview (Everytime I Hear) That Mellow Saxophone - Roy Montrell

  • 12 Preview Yama Yama Pretty Mama - Richard Berry

  • 13 Preview Wake Up Little Susie - The Everly Brothers

  • 14 Preview Slow Down - Larry Williams

  • 15 Preview My Babe - Ron Holden

  • 16 Preview Dirty Robber (45 Version) - The Wailers

  • 17 Preview Justine - Don & Dewey

  • 18 Preview Lights Out - Jerry Byrne

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought