Boppin' By The Bayou Again Various Artists (By the Bayou)


Louisiana/New Orleans
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1355

A SECOND DIP into the gumbo that was South Louisiana’s take on rock’n’roll in the 50s and early 60s,  the spicy mix of rockabilly and Southern rockers, heavily influenced by the sounds of R&B wafting from New Orleans and a lifetime of Cajun music.

Following the success of the first CD we are pleased to bring you another compilation full of the obscure and previously unissued. Most of our artists are Cajun born and bred. They grew up in the world where live music was a release from a tough existence: fishing, farming or toiling in the oil fields – but also reflected it. Hence Cajun music was split almost entirely into two genres: raucous good-time dance music or the sentimental, almost wrist-slitting ballads of broken hearts. 

The advent of rock’n’roll put a modern twist to these themes; the uptempo rockers had the teenagers a-hoppin’ and a-boppin’ and the songs of shattered love were often the basis of swamp pop. In this series we are concentrating on the former, but it is highly likely that swamp pop collections could follow.

This disc brings you more goodies from Al Ferrier, Johnny Jano, Pee Wee Trahan (aka Tommy Todd), Jay Chevalier, Rod Bernard, Warren Storm, Rocket Morgan and Vince Anthony, all of whom appeared on the first Boppin’ By The Bayou (Ace CDCHD1345), plus treats from Mickey Gilley, Gene Terry, Jim Oertling, Perry LaPointe, Milton Allen, Rusty Kershaw, Cajun Joe, Tony Perreau, J. C. Politz, Bert Bradley, Glenn Owens, Robert Owens, Wiley Jeffers and a previously unheard group (I believe) called The Teen Hearts.

We have been able to present 28 tracks, 12 of which are previously unissued, through our special access to the tapes of the late J. D. Miller, the late Eddie Shuler and our good friend Floyd Soileau. I have been fortunate enough to travel the highways of South Louisiana and that Cajun corner of South East Texas, meeting many of the artists and forging deals with label owners such as Luke Thompson (Hammond) Carl Graffagnino (Carl) and Sarah Rentz (Pel). Oh yes, there are others in the pipeline so we plan further issues with absolutely no drop of standard.

Following in the footsteps and, thanks to improved digital transfer techniques, building on the pioneering work of John Broven, and of Bruce Bastin of Flyright Records, we are capturing the raw energy of a music form peculiar to a relatively small but hugely influential area of the United States of America.

For those who are also who are also bitten by the bug of rockin’ blues and R&B from South Louisiana, keep a watch for the sister series featuring those genres, the first of which Rhythm’n’Bluesin’ By The Bayou is slated for imminent release.

By Ian Saddler



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview You're Humbuggin' Me - Rocket Morgan

  • 02 Preview Bop And Rock Tonight - Pee Wee Trahan

  • 03 Preview B O Rock - Perry La Pointe & The Orange Playboys

  • 04 Preview Too Hot To Handle - Vince Anthony

  • 05 Preview Fine Fine Fine - Gene Terry

  • 06 Preview I Ain't Goin' Home - Mickey Gilley

  • 07 Preview Loving Hugging Kissing My Baby - Milton Allen

  • 08 Preview Big Cloud (Pt 2) - Jay Chevalier & The Long Shots

  • 09 Preview Old Moss Back - Jim Oertling & The Bayou Boys

  • 10 Preview Going Back To Cocodrille - Cajun Joe

  • 11 Preview Honey Baby (slow version) - Al Ferrier

  • 12 Preview I'm Gonna Learn - Pee Wee Trahan

  • 13 Preview Kissin' Kin - Tony Perreau

  • 14 Preview Crazy Feeling - J. C. Politz with The Kings Of Swing

  • 15 Preview Billy Cannon - Jay Chevalier

  • 16 Preview Got A Right To Cry - Glen Owens

  • 17 Preview Arelia - Teen Hearts

  • 18 Preview Rock And Roll Baby - Johnny Jano

  • 19 Preview Carry On - Rusty Kershaw

  • 20 Preview The Girl In The Tight Blue Jeans - Bert Bradley & His Louisiana Cajuns

  • 21 Preview Send Her Back - Al Ferrier

  • 22 Preview Pardon Mr Gordon - Rod Bernard

  • 23 Preview Oh Nell - Warren Storm

  • 24 Preview Back Forty - Jim Oertling

  • 25 Preview Castro Rock - Jay Chevalier

  • 26 Preview Rock-A-Me Lulu - Johnny Jano

  • 27 Preview She's Coming Back Again - Wiley Jeffers

  • 28 Preview Whose Baby Are You - Robert Owens

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


A must-have CD ★★★★

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought