Break-A-Way: The Songs Of Jackie DeShannon 1961-1967 Various Artists (Songwriter Series)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1208

Jackie DeShannon’s status as a singer is assured. Her vocal range, diversity and skill, as exemplified by her original and stunning performances of ‘Needles And Pins’, ‘When You Walk In The Room’, Bacharach and David’s ‘What The World Needs Now Is Love’ and the generational anthem ‘Put A Little Love In Your Heart’, will be well known to readers of this article. But her status as a songwriter also deserves to be celebrated – something that Ace have done for us with this 27-track cracker, “Break-A-Way”.

Jackie’s talent for writing words and music emerged at a young age, and by 1958 she had successfully sold her song ‘My Baby Likes Western Guys’ to her contemporary, little Brenda Lee. Her abilities were recognised while she was still a teenager by Hollywood’s Liberty Records, who signed her to their publishing company Metric Music in 1961, where she was allowed to flourish alongside writers Sharon Sheeley, Randy Newman and J M Smith (later P J Proby). In this supportive West Coast environment Jackie came up with great song after great song, combining with Sharon Sheeley to write a series of hit records for Brenda Lee, the Fleetwoods and many more, inspiring the legendary Jack Nitzsche to some great co-writes and memorable productions, and striking out on her own to inspire the Searchers and other British bands to conquer the world.

Following this period of success Jackie briefly re-located to the UK, where a dynamic partnership with boy wonder session guitarist and Yardbird Jimmy Page resulted in a fabulous set of guitar-driven songs, folk-rock ballads and sublime soul (if you haven’t heard Barbara Lewis’ ‘Stop That Girl’ before, it will certainly stop you in your tracks).

In the period covered by this collection, 1961 to 1967, Jackie wrote a selection of songs which represent the very best in pop music of the day. The variety of styles is breathtaking – from the Merseybeat of ‘When You Walk In The Room’ by the Searchers, to the doo wop of ‘Should I Cry’ by the Concords (one of Jackie’s personal favourites), to the guitar raunch of Duane Eddy’s ‘Guitar Child’ and the girl-group sound of the Fashionettes’ ‘Day Dreamin’ Of You’. Jackie has written and co-written some 600 songs (and shows no sign of stopping!), and there are some rarities to give us enormous pleasure on this CD. Try the Bandits’ US garage take on ‘I Remember The Girl’, or, for a contrast, gospel chanteuse Wynona Carr’s slow and sexy interpretation of ‘Carrying A Torch’.

Every track here is a winner: from the obscure Jane Canada on the dimly-remembered Magic Lamp label, to household names such as Rick Nelson, Bobby Vee and indeed the Byrds. And Ace would not be Ace if they did not have a very special treat for us as a bonus – the collection concludes with a wonderful and previously unheard demo of Jackie performing her own lovely song ‘Only You Can Free My Mind’. So much talent, so much more to discover. I’m looking forward to Volume 2.



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Break-A-Way - Irma Thomas

  • 02 Preview When You Walk In The Room - The Searchers

  • 03 Preview Just Like Him - PJ Proby

  • 04 Preview Come And Stay With Me - Cher

  • 05 Preview Woe Is Me - Helen Shapiro

  • 06 Preview Dancing Silhouettes - Thurston Harris

  • 07 Preview (He's) The Great Impostor - The Fleetwoods

  • 08 Preview There's Gonna Be A Fight - Dick Lory

  • 09 Preview So Deep - Brenda Lee

  • 10 Preview You Won't Forget Me - Peter James

  • 11 Preview Carrying A Torch - Wynona Carr

  • 12 Preview Blue Ribbons - Dobie Gray

  • 13 Preview Stop That Girl - Barbara Lewis

  • 14 Preview In My Time Of Sorrow - Gay Shingleton

  • 15 Preview I Remember The Girl - The Bandits

  • 16 Preview Back Street Girl - Diana Dawn

  • 17 Preview Am I Dreaming - Jane Canada

  • 18 Preview Splendor In The Grass - The Boys

  • 19 Preview Guitar Child - Duane Eddy & the Rebelettes

  • 20 Preview Should I Cry - The Concords

  • 21 Preview Thank You Darlin' - Rick Nelson

  • 22 Preview Would You Come Back - Eddie Hodges

  • 23 Preview Day Dreamin' Of You - The Fashionettes

  • 24 Preview Takin' The Long Way Home - Peggy March

  • 25 Preview If I'm Right Or Wrong - Bobby Vee & the Ventures

  • 26 Preview Don't Doubt Yourself, Babe - The Byrds

  • 27 Preview Only You Can Free My Mind - Jackie DeShannon

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes




A real collectors' delight. ★★★★

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought