Early Girls Vol 3 Various Artists (Early Girls)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

Why is it I love girl singers so much? Maybe it's the fact that my mother was one. I'd ask my analyst, if I had one. Freud aside, let's see what scrumptious all-female delights Messrs Broven, Churchill & Finnis (the Ace selection panel) have in store for us on the latest collection of Early Girls. Jazz divas, pop queens and some schoolgirls named after their own hairdos (no, not the Poni-tails!) - and that's just for starters. Mmm, looks like girl pop aficionados like myself are in for another treat.

Patti Page was surely the Madonna of her day. One wonders if the hip clubbers who raved to Groove Armada's On The Beach last year realised they were chilling to the Singing Rage's 1957 classic Old Cape Cod in disguise. Here's the Ibiza crowd's chance to 'sample' the original. Patti's fans will no doubt also appreciate the inclusion of delicious tracks by multi-tracked former big band singer Margie Rayburn, Philly teenagers Jodie Sands, breathy-voiced 1960s TV starlet Shelley Fabares and mysterious Hollywood folkie Shelby Flint whose delicate offerings are scattered like cherries throughout this cake of a compilation.

Those with a taste for nuttier R&B might prefer the selections by Della Reese (dig that diction!), Stax legend Carla Thomas, Esther Phillips (reborn as a country singer), Etta James (ditto as an interpreter of standards), cool jazz icon Etta Jones, white soul goddess Timi Yuro and Faye 'Atomic' Adams whose rousing original of the perennial Shake A Hand must surely be the definitive version. Talking of rousing, blonde bombshell Lillian Briggs out-swings Louis Jordan on her attack on his I Want You To Be My Baby. This is the version Alan Freed fan Ellie Greenwich thrilled to back in 1955 and helped inspire her to write her own songs. Thanks, Lillian.

Among the poppier lovelies representing early 1960s solo girls are Joanie Sommers (the voice of a zillion Pepsi Cola jingles), beach bunny Diane Ray, Suzie Clark (whose P J Proby-composed Ain't Gonna Kiss Ya is the only non-chart track on this CD) plus Connie wannabes like Ginnie Arnell, Bernadette Carroll and Little Peggy March, the youngest female ever to top the Hot 100.

But speaking on behalf, if I may, of all femme pop devotees out there in punterland, the icing on this irresistible confection has to be the inclusion of a handful of desirable girl group-style gems. Where else can you find the Percells' What Are Boys Made Of, the Starlets' Better Tell Him No and He's Mine by the incredibly monikered Alice Wonder Land (a singing maid, no less - eat your heart out, Little Eva). Nowhere that's where. What a coup!

Spanning the years 1953 to 1964, this varied compilation sounds as lovely as the deluxe packaging looks. The booklet is simply to die for. It is, as they say, exactly what it states on the tin - 28 female classics from the Golden Age of American Pop. Buy with confidence.

By Mick Patrick


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview My One And Only, Jimmy Boy - The Girlfriends

  • 02 Preview I Will Follow Him - Little Peggy March

  • 03 Preview He's Mine (I Love Him, I Love Him, I Love Him) - Alice Wonder Land

  • 04 Preview Johnny Angel - Shelley Fabares

  • 05 Preview Dumb Head - Ginny Arnell

  • 06 Preview Please Love Me Forever - Cathy Jean and the Roommates

  • 07 Preview At Last - Etta James

  • 08 Preview What Are Boys Made Of - The Percells

  • 09 Preview Don't You Know? - Della Reese

  • 10 Preview I Want You To Be My Baby - Lillian Briggs

  • 11 Preview With All My Heart - Jodie Sands

  • 12 Preview I'm Available - Margie Rayburn

  • 13 Preview Old Cape Cod - Patti Page

  • 14 Preview Angel On My Shoulder - Shelby Flint

  • 15 Preview Hurt - Timi Yuro

  • 16 Preview Johnny Get Angry - Joanie Sommers

  • 17 Preview Please Don't Talk To The Lifeguard - Diane Ray

  • 18 Preview Birthday Party - The Pixies Three

  • 19 Preview Gee Whiz (Look At His Eyes) - Carla Thomas

  • 20 Preview Shake A Hand - Faye Adams

  • 21 Preview Don't Go To Strangers - Etta Jones

  • 22 Preview Party Girl - Bernadette Carroll

  • 23 Preview Better Tell Him No - The Starlets

  • 24 Preview What Kind Of Girl (Do You Think I Am) - The Charmaines

  • 25 Preview Release Me - Esther Phillips

  • 26 Preview Hey Lover - Debbie Dovale

  • 27 Preview Look In My Eyes - The Chantels

  • 28 Preview Ain't Gonna Kiss Ya - Suzie Clark

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought