Swamp Pop By The Bayou - Let's Get Together Tonight Various Artists (By the Bayou)


Louisiana/New Orleans
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1499

The buckle-polishers and skirt-swirlers are back! Presenting 28 rare goodies from Louisiana and South East Texas.

The variant of rock’n’roll that emanated from the Gulf Coast of South Louisiana and South East Texas in the 1950s-60s is as evocative of the area as chicken gumbo, crawfish étouffée and red beans and rice. The youthful Cajuns of the period threw themselves into r’n’r like teenagers across the globe, but had additional influences, not just the hillbilly and blues that created rockabilly, but the ethnic music of their parents and, most telling, the R&B sounds carried over the airwaves from New Orleans. In time, largely through the writings of Englishman John Broven, the music they created would become known as swamp pop, and the town of Ville Platte would claim the title of Swamp Pop Capital Of The World, host a Hall Of Fame dedicated to the genre and, each Mardi Gras, hold a reunion of swamp pop performers which culminates in a concert at the town’s civic centre.

This third journey into swamp pop territory includes giants of the genre Jivin’ Gene, Rod Bernard and Warren Storm, plus artists such as Gene Terry, Vince Anthony and Doug Ardoin who have knocked on fame’s door without quite breaking through, but still achieved cult status. The collection also features early recordings by blues legend Johnny Winter (under the alias Texas Guitar Slim) and rockabilly icon Rocket Morgan, who both demonstrate a gift for this regional music. There are 10 tracks from J.D. Miller’s studio in Crowley, six from Eddie Shuler’s Goldband label in Lake Charles, three from Jake Graffagnino’s Carl imprint in Opelousas and offerings from Floyd Soileau’s operation in Ville Platte, Hilton McCrory’s set-up in Morgan City and Mira Smith’s in Shreveport. From across the state line inSE Texas, we have dipped into the vaults of Huey Meaux, plus others from the studios of Pappy Daily, Diamond Jim Wheeler and Bill Hall.

The culture of South Louisiana is steeped in backbreaking toil, followed by any excuse for a party. Every small town has its own festival, generally based on the local food. The music of the area is designed for dancing and forms a part of the people’s DNA. The same can be said for those just across the Sabine River inSE Texas, who share a cultural background, including the love of music and a good time. So turn the clock back 50+ years, transport yourself to the steamy heat of a South Louisiana night and let the music of this 17th release in the “By The Bayou” series wash over you.

Ian Saddler


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview What Ya' Gonna Do? - Rocket Morgan

  • 02 Preview I'll Be Coming Home To You - Hal Young & The Electras

  • 03 Preview Never Let Her Go - Gene Terry & His Down Beats

  • 04 Preview Jailhouse Blues - Warren Storm

  • 05 Preview I'm Too Tired To Rock - Robert Owens & The Owens Singers

  • 06 Preview Play A Song For My Baby - Rod Bernard

  • 07 Preview Do You Take Me For A Fool - Chuck Hillier

  • 08 Preview I've Got My Heart In My Hand - Warren Storm

  • 09 Preview Crazie Babie - Texas Guitar Slim aka Johnny Winter

  • 10 Preview I Know It's A Sin - Rocket Morgan

  • 11 Preview Now Is The Time - Charlotte Hunter

  • 12 Preview Walking Alone - Jay Randall & The Electras

  • 13 Preview I'm Falling For You Darling - Hal Young & The Electras

  • 14 Preview This Life I Live - Rocket Morgan

  • 15 Preview If You Don't Want Me - Warren Storm

  • 16 Preview Let Me Walk With You - Sidney Ester & The Dreamers

  • 17 Preview Let's Get Together Tonight - Rod Bernard

  • 18 Preview I Got Loaded - Ken Lindsey

  • 19 Preview Searching For Love - Charles Page & The Rockin' "Aces"

  • 20 Preview Where Should I Go - Gabe Dean

  • 21 Preview The Snake - Merton Thibodeaux

  • 22 Preview Go On, Go On - Jivin' Gene

  • 23 Preview Want To Go Home - Amery Lynn

  • 24 Preview Lost Love - Doug Ardoin & The Boogie Kings

  • 25 Preview Lonely Street - Everett Daigle & The Tune Tones

  • 26 Preview Lucy Lou - Vince Anthony & The Blue Notes

  • 27 Preview It's Too Late - Rocket Morgan

  • 28 Preview Thank You So Much - Warren Storm

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes



Record Collector

If you love the deep Cajun sound of classic swamp pop, you've got 28 rarities here, programmed for maximum playability, with excellent liner notes and photos/label shots -- singles you'd never find even if you lived in the heart of Southwest Louisiana or East Texas. Albums like this are an incredible buy.

Ugly Things

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought