The Renfro Soul Story Various Artists (Label Stories)


Northern Soul
Catalogue Id:

Anthony [Tony] Renfro is the sort of bloke you just can't help liking. This 66 year old label owner still comes across as a naive innocent who has just left home and wants to know more about the world. I'm sure that his - always polite but curious - attitude was how he got to learn so much about the record industry that so enthrals him. Once he realised his natural charm opened doors for him, I've a feeling he played upon it mercilessly.

Tony tells with relish stories that sum him up. He remembers collaring Nat King Cole in the barber's. Once he was seated and unable to escape, Tony's bombarded him with ceaseless questions. At Paramount film studios he was rebuffed by Marlon Brando who was filming One Eyed Jacks, but got into conversation with Elvis Presley who was there for one of his many musical features on the same day.

Meeting Little Richard's mother at the grocery market where he worked was a great career move. An invitation back to her's for dinner gained a vital introduction to her illustrious son and Richard's advice and contacts started him on his way in the business. A similar meeting with Sam Cooke also helped by making him concentrate on the production side of the business rather than as a performer. In fact both Sam and James Brown told him bluntly that he couldn't sing. Far from being hurt, he took their advice and formed Renfro Records which (apart from one last stab at trying to be a vocalist) issued soul records that utilised the wealth of talent that was in LA in the 60s and mid 70s.

The label had next to no hits but issued some wonderful music from great singers including Carl Henderson, the Sequins and the Attractions. The company came very close to a hit with Carl Henderson's Sharing You. However the success probably came too soon, as Tony was still learning the tricky ropes of the record business and didn't maximise the song's potential. The money and lessons learnt from that minor triumph were re-invested in the label and helped the issue of such great records as the Sequins' A Case Of Love and He's A Flirt, the Stunners' Nobody But Me, the Attractions' Why Shouldn't A Man Cry and Morris Chestnut's Northern Soul anthem Too Darn Soulful.

Tony's whole way of life was devoted to the label. He lived at home with his ever-supportive family and had no rent to pay, so he could plough 90% of his wages from his job as a grocery clerk into the company. Thrifty by nature, he also knew that the less he paid for studios, singers and musicians, the more records he could put out. His likeable nature got him breaks all along the way and his friendship with Googie Rene added a vital musical ingredient to his records when he suggested hiring Arthur Wright as musical arranger. It's the classy musical silk purses that Arthur helped Tony make from his financial pig's ears that makes the records so good and has compelled rare soul fans to chase, collect and lust after them for more than thirty years. As well as Arthur's talents and know-how, Tony had the songs of Ronald Saunders and himself plus the under-rated arranging skills of Ray Jackson. These were what made Renfro so good.

This CD concentrates on the uptown uptempo recordings that have been the cause of the label's revered status in the UK. We plan to issue a CD of mainly ballads next year.

Notable tracks include the impossibly rare Bobby Wisdom's Handwriting On The Wall which is as great as its price would be if anyone ever found another one (thousands of pounds). Both sides of the Stunners' stunning one-off single are top-notch. Anything by the Sequins-.-they all start the heart racing and the toes tapping. Young Brothers' haunting What's Your Game on the very rare Soul Power subsidiary. Helen Moore's moody Get Away Blues and Viola Edwards' Love Me Baby tough femme vocal. These along with the aforementioned Carl Henderson and Attractions numbers are soul necessities and NEVER forget the mighty, mighty Morris Chestnut who sums the CD up as Too Darn Soulful!

By Ady Croasdell


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Handwriting On The Wall - Bobby Wisdom

  • 02 Preview That Girl - Carl Henderson

  • 03 Preview Why Shouldn't A Man Cry - The Attractions

  • 04 Preview Too Darn Soulful - Morris Chestnut

  • 05 Preview Without You - The Stunners

  • 06 Preview He's A Flirt - The Sequins

  • 07 Preview What's Your Game? - Young Brothers

  • 08 Preview Love Me Baby - Viola Edwards

  • 09 Preview Get Away Blues - Helen Moore

  • 10 Preview Nobody But Me - The Stunners

  • 11 Preview New Girl In The Neighborhood - The Attractions

  • 12 Preview You Don't Love Me Anymore - Morris Chestnut

  • 13 Preview A Case Of Love - The Sequins

  • 14 Preview See What You've Done - Carl Henderson

  • 15 Preview Life Is Love - Sam Cox

  • 16 Preview Everytime Part 1 - Buddy McKnight

  • 17 Preview The Skate Part 2 - Ronald Saunders

  • 18 Preview Destination You - The Attractions

  • 19 Preview That Boy - The Sequins

  • 20 Preview Love Line - Luke Day

  • 21 Preview My World Is Falling - Tender Loving Care

  • 22 Preview I'm Scheming - Carl Henderson

  • 23 Preview Just Believe - John Westly

  • 24 Preview The Tears - Little Tony & The Hawks

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


A top notch compilation. ★★★★


An exhilarating compilation. ★★★★

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought