This Is Mod Various Artists (This Is)


Catalogue Id:
BGPD 1115

“This Is Mod” is part of a new series aimed at vinyl buyers who wants a genre specific compilation to excite their ears. Two sides of fantastic music, at an affordable price, cherry picked from Ace and its associated catalogues.

Compiled by Dean Rudland, who also writes the liner notes, “This Is Mod” takes you to the darkened cellars of Soho, where everyone is wearing the sharpest clothes and dancing to the finest most danceable sounds from Black America. Soul, R&B and a touch of jazz are the order of the day.

Within the grooves we have gritty southern soul from Clarence Carter and Jimmy Hughes, the sound of Memphis courtesy of James Carr, Danny White and Timmy Thomas, and R&B from Lowell Fulsom and Richard Berry.

There's also nascent northern soul from, amongst others, Mary Love and Darrow Fletcher, making “This Is Mod” perfect intro for those who want the best music to go with their mohair.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Looking For A Fox - Clarence Carter

  • 02 Preview Money (That's What I Want) - Lonnie Mack & The Charmaines

  • 03 Preview Hi Heel Sneakers - Jimmy Hughes

  • 04 Preview Camel Walk - The Ikettes

  • 05 Preview Have Love Will Travel - Richard Berry & The Pharaohs

  • 06 Preview Sundown - The Merced Blue Notes

  • 07 Preview Talkin' Woman - Lowell Fulsom

Side 2

  • 01 Preview The Pain Gets A Little Deeper - Darrow Fletcher

  • 02 Preview Lay This Burden Down - Mary Love

  • 03 Preview Keep My Woman Home - Danny White

  • 04 Preview Elijah Rockin' With Soul - Hank Jacobs

  • 05 Preview Coming Back To Me Baby - James Carr

  • 06 Preview I Can't Stop (No, No, No) - Arthur Conley

  • 07 Preview It's My Life - Timmy Thomas

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought