Even Mo' Mod Jazz Various Artists (Mod Jazz Series)


Catalogue Id:

One of the biggest fears when reviewing an album that is a follow-up to a pair of classics, is that the tracks won't match up to those on the originals. Well in this case they most certainly do.

Several of the tracks fall into the "So Tacky They Are Tasteful category", namely Trini Lopez' Unchain My Heart which far outweighs Ray Charles' original and Andy Williams' House of Bamboo, which some smart-ass covered up in the mid 80s as by William Andrews.

Psychedelic soul is also represented by two of the finest songs ever to emerge from this bizarre fusion. Eddie Jefferson's Psychedelic Sally and Erma Franklin's Light My Fire have long been underground club anthems and are at last making it on to a Mod Jazz CD.
Former mod classics Honey Child, Ain't There Something Money Can't Buy and Secret Love all cross over nicely -.-but it does seen weird hearing them without the usual pops and scratches.

Talking of scratches, My Back Scratcher by Frank Frost is an amazing new sound to me, presumably inspired by Slim Harpo's Baby Scratch My Back. For me Woody Herman's version of Joe South's Hush sounds too much like a TV theme tune, but this is more than made up for by two previously undiscovered gems. Caesar's Pad was made by a young Googie Rene, a whole four years before Smokey Joe's La La (as featured on Mo Mod Jazz Kent CDKEND 150) and the best of the bunch Another Plan For School Mix Up by the Cals. Not only is this track a social comment on the school segregation of early 60s southern American states, but it's also great to dance to! Can't wait for Even Mo' Even Mo' Mod Jazz!

By Paul Hallam:

seedy nightclub DJ and 'Popcorn' dance promoter.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Another Plan For School Mix Up - The Cals

  • 02 Preview Hush - Woody Herman

  • 03 Preview Uptight (Everything's Alright) - Jackie Wilson and Count Basie

  • 04 Preview Get Ready - Ella Fitzgerald

  • 05 Preview Hang On Sloopy - Count Basie

  • 06 Preview Honey Child - Bobby Bland

  • 07 Preview Ain't There Something That Money Can't Buy - Young-Holt

  • 08 Preview Musty Rusty - Lou Donaldson

  • 09 Preview My Back Scratcher - Frank Frost

  • 10 Preview Shimmy - Toussaint McCall

  • 11 Preview Light My Fire - Erma Franklin

  • 12 Preview Fever - Sharon Cash

  • 13 Preview I Heard It Through The Grapevine - Karen Hernandez

  • 14 Preview Secret Love - Billy Stewart

  • 15 Preview Unchain My Heart - Trini Lopez

  • 16 Preview Caesar's Pad - Googie Rene

  • 17 Preview House Of Bamboo - Andy Williams

  • 18 Preview Feeling Good - Jean Dushon

  • 19 Preview Psychedelic Sally - Eddie Jefferson

  • 20 Preview The Point (Part 1) - Aaron (Chico) Bailey & The Family Affair Band

  • 21 Preview The Point (Part 2) (Eclipse 5-24-75) - Aaron (Chico) Bailey And The Family Affair Band

  • 22 Preview I Got To See My Baby (Part 2) - Lee Jones And The Unforgotten Two

  • 23 Preview Ain't It A Groove - Dave Hamilton

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


As full with fine dance floor jazz from the late 50's to mid-70's as ever.

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought