Westbound Detroit Northern Soul Various Artists (Westbound)


Northern Soul
Catalogue Id:

Second only to Motown in terms of releases and hits in 60s and 70s Detroit, Westbound and its sister label Eastbound hit on a successful formula of cutting rhythm tracks at Willie Mitchell’s studios in Memphis, while adding strings and backing vocals in Detroit. This was mainly employed on the Detroit Emeralds and Denise LaSalle; other hit acts like Funkadelic and the Fantastic Four were recorded in Detroit as were the many smaller acts. With Motown’s acquisition and decommissioning of the Golden World stable of labels in 1967 and the demise of indies like Thelma and MAH’s, there was a lot of talent in the city with few recording outlets. It was in fact one of the old school Detroit soul producers, Mike Hanks, who persuaded record distributor Armen Boladian to try his hand with a new label.

For some years I had been toying with the idea of using some of the odd Westbound tracks like the ones by Emanuel Laskey and Jimmy Scott on a Detroit Legends CD. Digging deeper though, it transpired that there were a lot of very good dance tracks, known and unknown, that would warrant a CD to themselves. Having periodically given the Joe Matthews and Eddie Hill tracks featured here a spin on the ole DAT machine and having seen them listed in the Westbound discography, I’m afraid I took them rather for granted as staple Detroit soul releases. In researching this CD further it transpired that the tracks had probably never made it to vinyl, though there is a possibility Joe Matthews’ may have been on a test pressing or demo that has never turned up. That gives this release more importance because these are very good tracks from important local artists, that virtually nobody will have previously heard; as are others featured here.

Though Funkadelic were one of the company’s biggest acts, their and their followers’ brand of off-the-wall soul/funk aren’t really cut out for this compilation, with the notable exception of their fine version of the old Golden World classic ‘Can’t Shake It Loose’. Denise LaSalle was a big success but pretty much did her own thing, with her Crajon Productions which came out on other labels - only her own recordings came out Westbound. The Eastbound subsidiary was originally jazz-based and surprisingly two of the best 70s soul tracks I’ve heard recently are provided by ex-Lou Donaldson sidemen Melvin Sparks and Caesar Frazier.

The most influential act, vis-a-vis this compilation, was the Detroit Emeralds who had a string of hits and also brought talent to the label and produced and wrote for others. We only have one of their tracks on here as they are covered well on our Westbound CDs and their lilting mid-tempo sound did not particularly fit into that Northern soul ethos. Their protégé Damon Shawn came up with the first version of ‘Feel The Need In Me’ and the one that got the UK DJ plays. His other track on here, also written by the Emeralds’ lead singer Abe Tilmon Jr, ‘Love Love Love’ (not the Bobby Hebb track) is a splendid number with a big orchestral production that should have done much better. There is a different take on the Detroit Emeralds’ ‘I Can’t See Myself Doing Without You’ by the very unknown Bob & Harold, another case of a discography entry without a disc! Similarly the Magictones reading of ‘Till You Decide To Come Home’ is tougher than the Emeralds’ hit version. Best of all however is a master tape of Abe and Denise LaSalle on an unknown groovy duet called ‘Ain’t That Lovin’’. It would surely have launched a new career for the two 70s soul superstars given the chance.

We purposely tried to avoid tracks from the still-in-catalogue Westbound CD “The Westbound Sound Of Detroit” CDSEWD 065, which was all vocal groups, but we have picked the best five tracks on there and still managed to find nine new group performances, including a good unissued Magictones and two fabulous slow burners from the New Holidays and the Houston Outlaws. The former’s ‘Maybe So, Maybe No’ has been revived recently by Nu Soul act Mayer Hawthorne; but as Dobie would say ……… the original’s still the greatest.

By Ady Croasdell


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Do Me Right - Denise LaSalle

  • 02 Preview Gonna Spread The News - Unique Blend

  • 03 Preview Holding On - The Detroit Emeralds

  • 04 Preview Ain't That Lovin' - Denise & Abe

  • 05 Preview What Every Little Girl Needs - Joe Matthews

  • 06 Preview I Am So Thankful - Eddie Hill

  • 07 Preview Feel The Need - Damon Shawn

  • 08 Preview Till Another Day (Tom Moulton 7" edit) - Caesar Frazier

  • 09 Preview I've Got To Have You - Melvin Sparks featuring Jimmy Scott

  • 10 Preview Don't Let True Love Die - Superlatives

  • 11 Preview Ain't No Telling - Houston Outlaws

  • 12 Preview I Got To Have Your Love - Fantastic Four

  • 13 Preview Happy Days - The Magictones

  • 14 Preview Lonely In A Crowd - Superlatives

  • 15 Preview Can't Shake It Loose - Funkadelic

  • 16 Preview My Baby Ain't No Plaything - The New Holidays

  • 17 Preview Yes I'm In Love - Unique Blend

  • 18 Preview I'm Slowly Moulding - The Magictones

  • 19 Preview Never My Love - Emanuel Laskey

  • 20 Preview I Can't See Myself Doing Without You - Bob & Harold

  • 21 Preview Till You Decide To Come Home - The Magictones

  • 22 Preview What Am I Gonna Do (About You Baby) - Jimmy Scott

  • 23 Preview Third World - Joe Matthews

  • 24 Preview Love Love Love - Damon Shawn

  • 25 Preview Maybe So, Maybe No - The New Holidays

  • 26 Preview It's No Fun Being Alone - Houston Outlaws

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought