Take What You Need - UK Covers Of Bob Dylan Songs 1964-69 Various Artists (Songwriter Series)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1508

A compilation of cover versions of Bob Dylan songs recorded by British artists in the 1960s.

“Take What You Need” gives a unique perspective on Dylan’s compositions, with the choice of songs starkly contrasting to those recorded in America during the same period.

This collection runs the gamut of musical genres from folk to country rock, taking in singer-songwriters, rhythm & blues and pop.

Several extremely rare cuts make their official CD debut here, notably tracks by the Fairies (their cover of ‘Don’t Think Twice’ was the very first British Dylan cover), Julie Felix, Boz and Cliff Aungier.

Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Don't Think Twice, It's All Right - The Fairies

  • 02 Preview Blowin' In The Wind - Marianne Faithfull

  • 03 Preview Oxford Town - The Three City Four

  • 04 Preview The Times They Are A Changin' - The Ian Campbell Folk Group

  • 05 Preview If You Gotta Go, Go Now - Manfred Mann

  • 06 Preview It's All Over Now Baby Blue - The Cops ‘n Robbers

  • 07 Preview Mr Tambourine Man - Chad & Jeremy

  • 08 Preview Love Minus Zero - Noel Harrison

  • 09 Preview One Too Many Mornings - Julie Felix

  • 10 Preview Visions Of Johanna - The Picadilly Line

  • 11 Preview Tom Thumb's Blues - Alex Campbell

  • 12 Preview To Ramona - The Alan Price Set

  • 13 Preview Absolutely Sweet Marie - The Factotums

  • 14 Preview All Along The Watchtower - The Alan Bown

  • 15 Preview I Shall Be Released - Boz

  • 16 Preview I Am A Lonesome Hobo - Julie Driscoll, Brian Auger & The Trinity

  • 17 Preview I'll Keep It With Mine - Fairport Convention

  • 18 Preview Million Dollar Bash - The Mixed Bag

  • 19 Preview Down Along The Cove - Cliff Aungier

  • 20 Preview Tears Of Rage - Country Fever

  • 21 Preview Just Like A Woman - Joe Cocker

  • 22 Preview Lay Lady Lay - Sandie Shaw

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought