Mod Jazz Forever Various Artists (Mod Jazz Series)


Catalogue Id:

The night is dark, and crisp enough to require a dark blue woollen overcoat over your midnight blue two-button narrow-lapelled, slim-fitting suit. Your loafers are oxblood and polished to a shine that reflects well on the rest of your outfit. You’re looking for the perfect soundtrack for a night on the town, not just any town, but a city, a bustling metropolis lit by neon and a full of a million souls – although you only want to be seen with a small percentage, the ones who can share your outlook and need the right sort of sounds.

Fortunately for you the mod jazz crew are back in town and we have scoured the world to provide you with the perfect blend of jazz, with a touch of the blues, a shake of soul and a pinch of latin. Whether you are sipping a whisky sour in a wood-panelled bar, trying to created the perfect Mad Men moment, or working up a sweat, we have the number for you.

As usual, we pay only lip service to genre divides, and bring you lots of great jazz vocals, often with an R&B twist. Check Troy Dodds’ ‘The Real Thing’ (the B-side of a super-expensive Northern soul hit) or Floyd White’s ‘Finders Keepers’, lifted from a previously unreleased Invader session. Mod jazz favourite Mark Murphy turns up with the amazing rare 45-only ‘It’s Like Love’ and Clint Stacy, Bobby Jenkins and Little Bob all help keep the mod jazz quality high. On the female side we have the phenomenal Tobi Lark, who is known for her soul numbers but was a consummate jazz performer, as was Byrdie Green, who gives us her take on Freddie Hubbard’s ‘Return Of The Prodigal Son’.

A good mod jazz record needs plenty of roaring Hammond organ, which we give you by Brother Jack McDuff, Johnny “Hammond” Smith and the great Reuben Wilson with one of his earliest recordings. That other great Hammond exponent Billy Larkin sings like Georgie Fame and strokes some piano keys on ‘Looking’, which sounds rather like ‘Fever’, a song served up in a wonderful version by Buddy Guy. The Night Beats deliver a garage jazz take on ‘Who’s Afraid Of Virginia Woolf Pt 2’ mod jazz regulars Hank Jacobs, Dave Hamilton and Johnny Lytle keep our toes tapping and our fingers clicking. As you leave the room to the previously unreleased British jazz cut ‘Sunshine Superman’ by Bocking, Robinson, Morais you will be feeling as sharp as ever. Another mod jazz miracle.

By Dean Rudland


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview The Real Thing - Troy Dodds

  • 02 Preview Finders Keepers - Floyd White

  • 03 Preview Who's Afraid Of Virginia Woolf Pt 2 - The Nightbeats

  • 04 Preview Rod Run - The Reuben Wilson Quartet

  • 05 Preview Night Bloomin' Jasmin' - Jesse Davis

  • 06 Preview Return Of The Prodigal Son - Byrdie Green

  • 07 Preview Look Out Mr Heartaches - Little Bob

  • 08 Preview Talkin' About Love - Tobi Lark

  • 09 Preview D.H. Boogaloo - The Dave Hamilton Set

  • 10 Preview Screamin' - Jack McDuff

  • 11 Preview Because I Love You - The Dave Hamilton Voices

  • 12 Preview Looking - Billy Larkin & His Orchestra

  • 13 Preview Double Love - The Cals

  • 14 Preview Sunshine Superman - Bocking, Robinson, Morais

  • 15 Preview A Message To Regina - Hank Jacobs

  • 16 Preview Tricky Too - Gus Jenkins

  • 17 Preview Fever - Buddy Guy

  • 18 Preview John Henry - Bobby Jenkins & His Quartet

  • 19 Preview Work Song - Clint Stacy

  • 20 Preview My Beat - George Stone

  • 21 Preview The In Crowd - Johnny "Hammond" Smith

  • 22 Preview Burgher's Beat - John Hart With Lil' Bob & The Lollipops

  • 23 Preview The Village Caller - Johnny Lytle Trio

  • 24 Preview It's Like Love - Mark Murphy

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought