Ricordare - The Songs Of Ennio Morricone Various Artists (Songwriter Series)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDTOP 1485

Artists from around the world perform songs by the celebrated Italian maestro.

This new edition in Ace Records’ highly regarded Songwriter series is devoted to celebrated Italian film soundtrack maestro Ennio Morricone. Few composers can rival the diversity, magnitude and huge influence of his work. In addition to the 500-plus motion pictures Morricone has scored, he has arranged, conducted or written popular hits records, supplied the music for many television series and composed at least 100 classical pieces, which he describes as “absolute music”. While he is best known for his orchestral or instrumental recordings, many of his film soundtracks include actual songs. It’s songs on which this collection focuses.

The recordings here span ‘Canzone Basilisca’ by Fausto Cigliano from Morricone’s score for 1963’s I Basilischi and ‘Il Tempo Sa’ by self-styled “Queen of Popera” Romina Arena from her 2012 album “Morricone.Uncovered”. Spaghetti western buffs might recognise the melody of the latter as the iconic ticking watch theme from For A Few Dollars More. Other highlights include Milva’s spellbinding version of ‘Chi Mai’, one of Morricone’s most familiar compositions; ‘Se Telefonando’ by Mina, a record considered by many as among finest to emerge from 1960s Italy; and ‘Veruschka’ by living legend Edda Dell’Orso, whose remarkable voice can be heard in more Morricone film scores than any other. Completing the compilation are tracks by Portuguese fado heroine Dulce Pontes, folk royalty Joan Baez, Italian rock star Zucchero, singing thespians Catherine Spaak, Lisa Gastoni and Gérard Depardieu, Morricone regulars I Cantori Moderni Di Alessandroni and more, all carrying the composer’s indelible hallmark.

Ian Johnston and Mick Patrick


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Chi Mai - Milva

  • 02 Preview Se Telefonando... - Mina

  • 03 Preview Hurry To Me - Amii Stewart

  • 04 Preview A Brisa Do Coração - Dulce Pontes

  • 05 Preview Guerra E Pace, Pollo E Brace - Voci Bianche Di Renata Cortiglioni

  • 06 Preview Slalom - I Cantori Moderni Di Alessandroni

  • 07 Preview Ho Messo Gli Occhi Su Di Te - Dino

  • 08 Preview Questi Vent Anni Miei - Catherine Spaak

  • 09 Preview Una Stanza Vuota - Lisa Gastoni

  • 10 Preview Il Tempo Sa - Romina Arena

  • 11 Preview Amália Por Amor - Hayley Westenra

  • 12 Preview Un Treno In Più - Patty Pravo

  • 13 Preview Veruschka (Poesia Di Una Donna) - Edda Dell'Orso

  • 14 Preview A Flower's All You Need - Demis Roussos

  • 15 Preview Here's To You - Joan Baez

  • 16 Preview La Ballati Di Hank McCain - Jackie Lynton

  • 17 Preview Canzone Basilisca - Fausto Cigliano

  • 18 Preview The Ballad Of Sacco And Vanzetti - Scott Walker

  • 19 Preview Libera L'Amore - Zucchero Sugar Fornaciari

  • 20 Preview It Couldn't Happen Here - The Pet Shop Boys

  • 21 Preview Ricordare - Gérard Depardieu

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


A revelation for anyone who thought Il Maestro only excelled in the world of instrumental high drama ★★★★


Stuffed to the gills with sweeping strings, grandiose arrangements and impassioned vocal performances.

Ugly Things

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought