Swamp Pop By The Bayou Various Artists (By the Bayou)


Louisiana/New Orleans
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1397

In the mid-50s, as rock’n’roll swept across the USA, the Cajun youth of South Louisiana and South East Texas absorbed the R&B sounds emanating from New Orleans. This was reflected in their music, making it so distinctive. They thrilled to the sound of Fats Domino, Smiley Lewis and Huey Smith and performed their songs with the bands they formed, while the area’s new breed of songwriters – Bobby Charles, Jimmy Donley, Jivin’ Gene, etc – assimilated the Crescent City style in their work. Swamp pop was born, although the genre had yet to be named.

Several artists were plucked from the scene and sanitised by big record companies to turn them into pop stars, but there is no sanitisation here on “Swamp Pop By The Bayou”. Half the tracks are previously unreleased and most of the rest are pretty obscure. Jivin’ Gene’s ‘Breaking Up Is Hard To Do’ is the only national hit, but even that seems to have dodged CD compilation. Also included are examples from genre favourites such as Johnnie Allan and Warren Storm, plus Rocket Morgan, Gene Terry and Tommy Strange, artists better-known for their rockabilly recordings.

The tracks all come from the tape vaults of South Louisiana record men J.D. Miller, Floyd Soileau, Sam Montel and Eddie Shuler, who recognised good songs and singers when they heard them. The music they captured has been a joy to fans of rockabilly, R&B, blues and swamp pop for over 50 years. The vast untapped stockpile of recordings from these and other sources mean the future of the “…By The Bayou” series seems very exciting.

By Ian Saddler 


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Sneakin' Home - Vince Anthony with The Blue Notes

  • 02 Preview Hear Love Knockin' - Jay Richards & The Blues Kings

  • 03 Preview Tell Me - Bobby Webb & The Jets

  • 04 Preview Oh Oh Baby - Warren Storm

  • 05 Preview Too High A Price (To Pay For Love) - Rocket Morgan

  • 06 Preview Breaking Up Is Hard To Do - Jivin' Gene & The Jokers

  • 07 Preview I Ain't Had No Sleep - Frankie Lowery

  • 08 Preview I Ran Around - Johnny Bersin & The Dial-Tones

  • 09 Preview Good Lovin' - John Fred

  • 10 Preview In This Letter - Ronnie Bennett

  • 11 Preview Lonely Lonely Heart - Tommy Strange

  • 12 Preview She's Walking Toward Me - Frankie Lowery

  • 13 Preview Did You Leave Something Else (For Me) - Rocket Morgan

  • 14 Preview No Season On Squeezing - Charles Page

  • 15 Preview The Convict And The Rose - Johnnie Allan & The Krazy Kats

  • 16 Preview You're On My Mind - Doug Charles & The Boogie Kings

  • 17 Preview This Life I Live - Warren Storm

  • 18 Preview You Jezebel - Guitar Jeff

  • 19 Preview I'm Ready - George

  • 20 Preview What Am I To Do - Tommy Strange

  • 21 Preview Operator This Is Elbert - Peto Marlow & The Rhythm Kings

  • 22 Preview Cry Your Heart Out - Donnie Williams & The Blue Notes

  • 23 Preview What Can I Do (I Still Love You) - Gene Terry with The Down Beats

  • 24 Preview I'm Leaving You - Warren Storm

  • 25 Preview Deedle Dee Deedle Dee - Bee Arnold

  • 26 Preview Rose Marie - Buck Rogers & His Jets

  • 27 Preview Walkin' Home - Rocket Morgan

  • 28 Preview Down In New Orleans - John Fred & The Playboys

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


Another indispensable collection for lovers of the Louisiana rock n roll sound.

Now Dig This

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought