The Real Excello R&B Various Artists (Excello)


Rhythm & Blues
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

The Real R&B was released on Stateside in the mid-1960s. Along with its companion LP Authentic R&B, it introduced British blues far to one of America's greatest regional sounds - the blues and R&B of Louisiana - and to the catalogue of Excello Records. If Authentic R&B had the sides that became much emulated - Slim Harpo's I'm A King Bee (covered by The Rolling Stones), Got Love If You Want It (covered by The Kinks) and I'm A Lover Not A Fighter {covered by The Yardbirds) - then The Real R&B had stuff to more deeply excite the imagination (including Lightnin' Slim's wonderfully moody, echo- laden Wintertime Blues and Arthur Gunter's original Baby Let's Play House, which Elvis covered in his youth). Along the way these Stateside LPs helped launch countless blues collections. So how did it all begin for Excello? Well, the label was launched in August 1952 by Ernie Young in Nashville, Tennesee (as an offshoot to the Nashboro label). With Nashboro as the valuable gospel outlet, Excello was primarily a blues and R&B label, although in the early days there was also a sprinkling of gospel and white country music as well as rockabilly. In its latter years Excello was also an outlet for prime 60s Southern Soul. Essentially, though, Excello remained famous for its pure and unadulterated blues (even the contemporary styles are very downhome). Aimed initially at the black buyers of the American South in the pre-Civil Rights era, the music was pumped out to downhome audiences via the powerful radio transmitters of Radio WLAC in Nashville and its DJs Gene Nobles, John 'R' Richbourg and Bill 'Hoss' Alien. The British R&B boom and the cover versions by the rock groups that invaded America's airwaves in the second pop invasion all helped generate interest back home. Many of the artists on The Real R&B enjoyed frequent appearances at blues festivals and on package tours across the UK, Europe and the USA. In the 1990s, younger British enthusiasts are still bopping away to the Excello blues boogies blasting out at underground 'rocking' clubs and blues festivals. As with our reissue of Authentic R&B ("Authentic Excello R&B" CDCHD 492) we have added extra tracks to the original LP release (8 in all) and included strong alternate takes of I'm Goin' In The Valley and Wintertime Blues, the original 45 versions of these can be found, respectively, on the equally essential CDs "So Long Blues" (CDCHD 523) and "Rooster Blues/ Bellringer" (CDCHD 517).


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Little Queen Bee (Got A Brand New King) - Slim Harpo

  • 02 Preview I Tried So Hard - Whispering Smith

  • 03 Preview I'm Goin' In The Valley - Silas Hogan

  • 04 Preview I'm So Glad - Leon Austin

  • 05 Preview I Had A Dream Last Night - Lonesome Sundown

  • 06 Preview She's My Crazy Little Baby - Lightnin' Slim

  • 07 Preview I Need Money - Slim Harpo

  • 08 Preview Goin' Crazy Over Tv - Jimmy Anderson

  • 09 Preview Dark Clouds Rollin' - Silas Hogan

  • 10 Preview You're Playin' Hookey - Lonesome Sundown

  • 11 Preview Still Rainin' In My Heart - Slim Harpo

  • 12 Preview It's Love Baby - Earl Gaines

  • 13 Preview Nothing In This World - Jimmy Anderson

  • 14 Preview Baby Let's Play House - Arthur Gunter

  • 15 Preview Wintertime Blues - Lightnin' Slim

  • 16 Preview Cryin' Blues - Whispering Smith

  • 17 Preview Pleadin' For Love - Roscoe Shelton

  • 18 Preview Whoa Now - Lazy Lester

  • 19 Preview It's Your Voodoo Working - Charles Sheffield

  • 20 Preview Rocka Me All Night Long - Jay Nelson

  • 21 Preview Leavin' Tennessee - Al Garner

  • 22 Preview Baby, Kiss Me Again - Sweet Clifford

  • 23 Preview Crazy Over You - Roscoe Shelton

  • 24 Preview Baby! I'm Stickin' To You - Charles Friday

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought