Uptown, Down South - A-Bet And Excello's Soul Sound Various Artists (Excello)


Northern Soul
Catalogue Id:

Despite its overwhelming country music association Nashville has a large black population and produced great music sourced from and aimed at this largely unheralded group.

Local songwriter Ted Jarrett was one of the driving forces in the 50s and carried on working through the next three decades. On this CD R&B based act Lucille Mathis sings his gritty mover ‘I’m Not You Regular Woman’. Ted had his own labels but the city’s main black music imprint was Ernie Young’s Excello which had been issuing R&B since the early 50s, many with Ted’s involvement.

Ted studied at the city’s noted black university Fisk, where the younger Bob Holmes gained high distinctions. Bob was a master arranger and though his first successes were with the raw blues of Slim Harpo, he brought a sophisticated orchestrated soul sound to most of his work. Ted worked with Bob on several releases for Excello and the pair would later run Ref-O-Ree together. Bob’s main acts were the girl group the Avons, male trio the Hytones (also later solos by member Freddie Waters) and Peggy Gaines, along with occasional projects on Freddie North, Jimmy Church and others.

In 1967 Excello launched a more uptown soul subsidiary, Abet. The first release was the Hytones ‘Bigger And Better’ a perennial Northern Soul favourite that fetches up to £500. It was written by Bob Holmes, as was the exquisite ‘Since I Met You Baby’ by the Avons and ‘I’ve Got To Hold Back’, which carries a more mainstream soul sound than Freddie North is usually associated with. Bob and Ted also worked with Detroiter Roger Hatcher whose ‘Sweetest Girl In The World’ is a mid tempo masterpiece with a terrific arrangement. Bob said if they were trying to emulate anyone in the mid 60s it was Detroit more than the nearby Memphis sound.

Fellow Nashville producer Jerry Crutchfield managed Memphis singer Percy Wiggins and produced him in the Music City on ‘That’s Loving You’, a catchy number with a fast, bouncing rhythm, one the dancers on the Northern Soul scene adopted a decade after its Abet release.

The fascinating thing about many of these artists is that they can be seen appearing on the TV show The Beat produced by Hoss Allen out of Nashville and now available on DVD. Hoss had his own Rogana Productions and cut Frank Howard, who regularly appeared on the show with his group the Commanders, on the pretty mid-tempo love song ‘Judy’.

A more Southern soul sound came from the acts that were on the Sims or Whit labels or those who migrated to Excello from those labels after they folded. The Kelly Brothers’ ‘Crying Days Are Over’, Bobby Powell’s ‘Childhood Days’ and the Wallace Brothers’ ‘Thanks A Lot’ are examples. Marva Whitney and Shirley Brown are better known for their work with other imprints but these overlooked sides are excellent too. Abet continued well into the 70s and embraced the disco era, though still staying soulful. The Skip Mahoney, Jerry Washington and Bits ‘N’ Pieces tracks represent that period.

There is a wonderful previously unreleased beat ballad by Freddie North and other musical debutants include the haunting ‘I Would If I Could’ by the Avons.

Inevitably some wonderful sides have only surfaced over the last few decades, those by Johnny Truitt and Bennie Shaw, in particular, are why we collect this fabulous music.

Ady Croasdell


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview (I've Got To) Hold Back - Freddie North

  • 02 Preview Sweetest Girl In The World - Roger Hatcher

  • 03 Preview Judy - Frank Howard

  • 04 Preview That's Loving You - Percy Wiggins

  • 05 Preview I'm Not Your Regular Woman - Lucille Mathis

  • 06 Preview Since I Met You Baby - The Avons

  • 07 Preview Don't Let Our Love Fade Away - Marva Whitney

  • 08 Preview Even If The Signs Are Wrong - Shirley Brown

  • 09 Preview Childhood Days - Bobby Powell

  • 10 Preview Just Another Guy - Freddie North

  • 11 Preview Bigger And Better - The Hytones

  • 12 Preview Crying Days Are Over - The Kelly Brothers

  • 13 Preview Save A Foolish Man - Lee Brackett

  • 14 Preview That's My Man - Marion James

  • 15 Preview No More Tears - Bessie Jones

  • 16 Preview Set Your Soul On Fire - Jerry Washington

  • 17 Preview Our Love Is Getting Better - Z.Z. Hill

  • 18 Preview Crystal Blue Persuasion - The Kelly Brothers

  • 19 Preview What Price For Love - Bennie Shaw

  • 20 Preview Thanks A Lot - The Wallace Brothers

  • 21 Preview I Would If I Could - The Avons

  • 22 Preview Keep On Running Away - Bits 'n' Pieces

  • 23 Preview Running Away From Love - Skip Mahoney & The Casuals

  • 24 Preview Just The Other Day - Johnny Truitt

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought