The Answer To Everything: Girl Answer Songs Of The 60s Various Artists (States & Regions)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1166

For every major hit that posed a lover’s question, or had you crying in your beer back in the 60s, there was the reassuring certainty of the ‘answer’song. Answer records were a prevailing American phenomenon. Usually rendered by female artists, they were an expedient way to hitch a ride on the coat tails of an existing hit. Deejays favoured them for their topical value and many answer records from the Golden Age made the charts in their own right.

Here are 28 of the best, all by female performers, save for one tune by ‘guest boy’ Bertelle Dache whose Not Just Tomorrow, But Always, a riposte to the Shirelles’ smash Will You Love Me Tomorrow, is among the sought-after highlights of the set. Others include Gerri Granger’s sinewy Just Tell Him Jane Said Hello, produced by Leiber and Stoller in the wake of Elvis’ Just Tell Her Jim Said Hello, Tracey Dey’s Jerry (I’m Your Sherry), which features a couple of the 4 Seasons on background vocals and Jody Miller’s Grammy award winning Queen Of The House, which became a smash to rival King Of The Road. Even wackier than the original is They Took You Away – I’m Glad, I’m Glad by Josephine, a timely ‘answer’ to They’re Coming To Take Me Away, Ha-Haa by Napoleon XIV. Regarded as the better of the two records, this suffered a radio ban and is extremely rare.

Many of the titles on this extremely potent and novel compilation appear on CD for the first time and all are sourced from the best available sources. It is the only comprehensive answer song compilation on the market and we have given it our best attention. it comes with a gorgeous booklet full to bursting with a reviews, ads and label shots that evoke the phenomenon almost as much as the music itself.

By Rob Finnis


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Just Tell Him Jane Said Hello - Gerri Granger

  • 02 Preview I'm No Run Around - Ginger Davis & the Snaps

  • 03 Preview Jerry (I'm Your Sherry) - Tracey Dey

  • 04 Preview Queen Of The House - Jody Miller

  • 05 Preview Sugar Shack Queen - Georgia Lynn

  • 06 Preview Gary, Please Don't Sell My Diamond Ring - Wendy Hill

  • 07 Preview You Should Know I'm Still Your Baby - Sammi Lynn

  • 08 Preview I'll Believe It When I See It - The Sierras

  • 09 Preview Yes, I'm Lonesome Tonight - Dodie Stevens

  • 10 Preview Not Just Tomorrow, But Always (Mono single version) - Bertell Dache

  • 11 Preview I'll Be There - Damita Jo & the Chuck Sagle Orchestra

  • 12 Preview Don't Let Him Shop Around - Debbie Dean

  • 13 Preview Son-in-law - The Blossoms

  • 14 Preview He'll Have To Stay - Jeanne Black

  • 15 Preview Duchess Of Earl - The Pearlettes

  • 16 Preview Well, I Told You - The Chantels

  • 17 Preview When A Woman Loves A Man - Esther Phillips

  • 18 Preview Long As The Rose Is Red - Florraine Darlin

  • 19 Preview Tell Tommy I Miss Him - Marilyn Michaels

  • 20 Preview (I Can't Help You) I'm Falling, Too - Skeeter Davis

  • 21 Preview You Don't Have To Be A Tower Of Strength - Gloria Lynne

  • 22 Preview I'll Bring It On Home To You - Carla Thomas

  • 23 Preview I'll Just Walk On By - Margie Singleton

  • 24 Preview (Chain Gang) The Sound Of My Man - Theola Kilgore

  • 25 Preview Sorry, Daddy - The Sweethearts

  • 26 Preview I Don't Like It Like That - The Bobbettes

  • 27 Preview There Is Nothing On My Mind Pts 1 & 2 - The Teen Queens

  • 28 Preview They Took You Away - I'm Glad, I'm Glad - Josephine

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


Great fun all the way. ★★★★

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought